Go to content

About Us

EAPSP was officially incorporated in 2010. Formation of this association was spearheaded by Dr Ron Lee, to further the affiliation and continuing professional education of self-psychologically oriented therapists in Australia. It was also in response to the growth of interest in Self Psychology since the first Empathink Workshop in 1999 and then the first Summer School in 2004.  The Empathink Summer Schools, founded and hosted by Dr Ron Lee, provided a generous sharing of knowledge of, and experience in, the postulates of Self Psychology. It provided a platform for the presenting of clinical cases and fostered a culture of collegiate support, trust and learning; a culture which continues to characterise the annual EAPSP conference experience.

This approach was unique to the Australian psychological landscape and the high degree of clinical relevance it offered appeals to increasing numbers of clinicians.

EAPSP holds a yearly conference in March and invites international speakers to keynote the gathering.  
Past invited speakers have included Dr. Marion Tolpin (2008), Dr. Neville Symington (2009), Professor Sid Bloch (2010), Dr. James Fosshage (2011), and Dr.Jo Beatson (2012), Dr. Shelley Doctors(2013),
Dr George Atwood (2014) speaking via video conference from New York and Dr Ron Lee from Melbourne, Robert D Stolorow (2015) speaking via video conference from California, Dr Edwin Harari  and Prof Sidney Bloch from Melbourne Dr David Terman (2017) from Chicago.

Back to content